Recollections of Rosings by Rebecca Ann Collins is book 8 in the Pemberly Chronicles, a sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

Product Description from B&N

Catherine Harrison and Becky Tate, daughters of Charlotte Lucas and Mr. Collins, grew up in the shadow of Rosings Park, domain of the formidable Lady Catherine de Bourgh; but as adults their paths have diverged dramatically. When a catastrophe at Rosings Park brings Becky back to visit her sister, the two clash over their aspirations for the marriage of Catherine’s young daughter, and both women are forced to confront the ghosts of their past—in particular, Lady Catherine’s cruelty and deception. As the shocking truth emerges, the Darcy and Bingley families rally. But is it too late for the sisters to find the love and happiness they were denied so long ago?

I received Recollections of Rosings by Rebecca Ann Collins from to read and review.

This is a work of fiction based on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice novel. This book is the 8th in a series and takes place 40-50 years after Pride and Prejudice with a some of the characters like Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, Jonathan Bingley and his wife Anna, Rebecca and Anthony Tate. There are new characters as well , but the story revolves around Catherine Harrison and her sister Rebecca Tate. At this point in this series Catherine is married to Dr.Harrison , Reverand at Hunsford, who is alive at the very beginning of the story but dies shortly after.

Catherine was invited to live with Lady Catherine de Bourgh and as a young woman befriends a young man in Lady Catherines employ at Rosings, Lady Catherine’s estate. Frank Burnett is a intelligent young man working as archivist and librarian at Rosings. During that time before Catherine’s marriage to Dr. Harrison, she spends a lot of time with Mr. Burnett. As the years go on Catherine has a happy marriage and has children. Frank Burnett goes to Europe to study. After Dr. Harrison dies, a fire breaks out at Rosings and destroys a wing of the estate and Jonathan Bingley hires Frank Burnett to be the librarian again. Catherine at this time is now a widow and with the permission of Mr. Darcy member of Rosings Park Trust which now manages the estate, moves into the Dower house on Rosings grounds and she starts to spend more time at the estate and over a period of time her friendship with Frank is renewed. Catherine also has aspirations of having a school on the Rosings for the children that live on the estate.

Catherines daughter Lillian is engaged to be married to Mr. John Adams, who had been curator for a year or so at Rosings, but it is postponed after the death of Dr. Harrison and Lilian becomes severely ill and Catherine’s sister Becky comes to the Dower house to assist Catherine in taking care of her daughter. Becky does not approve of the young man who wants to marry Lilian so she clashes with Catherine on this. Becky has a very influential friend, Lady Ashton, who proceeds to spread gossip regarding Mr. Adams heritage. As this happens Catherine and Frank find out in their conversations how they each felt about the other many years ago and because of an old ladies meddling , Lady Catherine de Bourgh, whose deceptions kept the young couple apart and to move onto their separate lives where they meet up years later. The story continues with Catherine and Becky confronting their own personal issues of the past and find out that love does in fact conquer all.

At first I had a hard time getting into this book. I have #1 in the series but haven’t read it yet and reading the 8th book of the series first was a bit confusing. I did a get character list along with the book so that helped immensely. At times I found the story repetitive in certain parts, especially when Catherine was reading her diary of her earlier years at Rosing and her relationship with Mr. Burnett. I liked the character of Catherine as she was portrayed as a very kind and sensitive, but also a strong woman in her own right.

Recollections of Rosings is a perfect addition to anyone’s library who is a fan of Jane Austen. I would recommend reading it in chronological order first though as the story does get into some characters from the previous books.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s