My Daughter is a Writer!!!

A Young KC Kelly

My daughter Kara is an as of yet unpublished author and is eagerly looking for people to read her manuscript… Please read below…Thanks so much!!!

As most of you know, I have recently finished a manuscript.  It is a collection of humor essays entitled “You Look Like A Boy (And Other Shamefully True Tales of a Midwestern Girl), essays that chronicle some of my most memorable mishaps and embarrassing exploits.  I have been working hard on this book for almost two years now and it is finally complete. 
Before I can get it published, I need your help. But first, I want you to read the book’s description:
For most young girls, nothing could be more upsetting than being mistaken for a boy by classmates and family members for nearly their entire childhood.  For some teenage girls, nothing would be more shameful than losing their virginity to her friend’s boyfriend and getting caught.  And for many women, almost nothing is more degrading than considering becoming a stripper named KoCo Puff to supplement her income.
But I’m not like other women.  For me, absolutely nothing is more embarrassing than actually being me.
Being me means being a sassy Irish girl who is often the butt of her own jokes and who has almost no humility. It means you were mistaken for a boy during your formative years, thanks to a bowl cut and a foul mouth, and you were also one of the last girls in grade middle school to experience The Big “P”. 
Being me means you have slept with a superhero and even talked your way out of a drunk driving ticket using only your raw sarcasm and wit.  It means your best friend is a girl who drinks like a pirate, has a hammertoe, and sweats more than an entire NFL football team. It also means you have to take extreme caution when ordering Chinese food because after a “Rock ‘N Bowl” night gone wrong, your reputation among the Asian community has officially been ruined. 
Being me means you are rapidly and clumsily approaching thirty and the only thing you have to show for it is an abused liver, a shrinking bladder, and a muffin top. 
So just be thankful you’re not me.
I am currently seeking representation for this book as well as exploring other publishing options.  Like I said, in order to get this book published I NEED your help.  I am trying to expand my platform by getting more followers to my blog and on Twitter.  As my friends and family, I would be seriously indebted to you if you would do one or more of the following things:
1. Follow my blog at http://theother98.blogspot.com
It’s FREE. You don’t even have to read it (although I hope you will).  All you have to do is go to that link, scroll down on the right side of the page and you will see a heading titled “Groupies”. Click “Join This Site” and follow the directions.  It takes 5 minutes, tops!  The more followers I have, the better.
You can also look below the “Groupies” heading where it says “Sharing is Sexy” and share my blog on your Facebook or Twitter accounts so perhaps the people you know will be interested in reading my blog!
2. Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/kckelly719 If you do have a twitter account you use regularly, my username is @kckelly719
3. Hook up with me on Linkedin at
4. Spread the word to your family members, friends, coworkers, etc. All you have to do is send a few emails with a link to my blog http://theother98.blogspot.com and a little blurb. The blurb can say anything from “check out this humor blog!”; “this blog provided me some laughter on my lunch break”; “this girl I know is funny and has a blog that’s worth reading” or “read/follow this blog OR ELSE”! Whatever you feel comfortable with. Just make sure you do it.
Without my family and friends and networking with people in the business, my book will have absolutely no success.  As of right now, I have 39 followers on my blog and 78 followers on Twitter, and 29 connections on Linkedin.  I NEED MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I want nothing more than to be a published writer, but I can’t do it alone.  I am hoping all of you will spend at least 5 minutes out of your day and spread the word for me. 
Thank you in advance for those of you who take my request to heart. ; I am seriously indebted to those of you who actually support me and my future as a published writer. 
Much love,
KC Kelly
Leave a Reply

