The Argory, situated on a wooded estate overlooking the Blackwater River, was built in 1824 for Walter McGeough. This superb neo-classical house has maintained much of its original contents and structure, and houses four generations of family treasures. Its most notable feature is a cabinet barrel organ, built by James Bishop of London, which still in working order. Also to be seen is the rare acetylene gas plant, installed in 1906, which for seven decades was used to light gas lamps in the house. On the grounds there is a rose garden, which contains a sundial bearing the inscription ‘Here reader mark the silent steps of never standing time’. There are also 315 acres of woodland to explore.
Nearby is Ardress House, a 17th century farmhouse with 18th century additions. Visitors can enjoy the cobbled working farmyard (with piggery and blacksmith’s forge), woodland walks, garden and an adventure playground.
Both the Argory and Ardress House are owned by the National Trust.